University of Southern California

CRCC Passing the Mantle


The Passing the Mantle Institute, founded in 2006 with a generous grant from The James Irvine Foundation, worked to empower clergy and lay leaders to expand their vision for community development and social engagement projects.

PTM was a program of the Center for Religion and Civic Culture at the University of Southern California.

Leadership Team

Past Speakers

The PTM Clergy and Lay Leadership Institute has had the privilege of including the following list of distinguished speakers since its founding:

  • Dr. Raphael Bostic, USC School of Policy, Planning, and Development
  • Ms. Cheryl Ann Branch, Los Angeles Metropolitan Churches
  • Rev. Jeff Carr, Los Angeles Office of Gang Reduction and Youth Development
  • Rev. Dr. Monica A. Coleman, Claremont School of Theology
  • Dr. George C. L. Cummings, Imani Community Church
  • Min. Lonnie Dawson, New Mt. Calvary Baptist Church of Los Angeles
  • Ms. Alicia Dixon, The California Endowment
  • Bishop Yvette Flunder, Refuge Ministries and The Fellowship
  • Mr. Robert Gnaizda, Greenlining Institute
  • Rev. Dr. James Lawson, Holman United Methodist Church
  • Rev. Leonard Jackson, Office of Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa
  • Rev. James Jones, Jr., Gangsters for Christ
  • Ms. Edina Lekovic, Muslim Public Affairs Council
  • Ms. Mary Lee, PolicyLink
  • Dr. LaVonna Lewis, USC School of Policy, Planning, and Development
  • Mr. Alfred Lomas, Dream Center
  • Dr. Lawrence Mamiya, Vassar College
  • Dr. Juan Martinez, Fuller Theological Seminary
  • The Right Rev. Dr. Vashti Murphy McKenzie, Bishop of the 13th Episcopal District of the African Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Ms. Noreen McClendon, Concerned Citizens of South Central Los Angeles
  • Dr. Aldon Morris, Northwestern University
  • Rev. Clyde Oden, Jr., Bryant Temple AME Church
  • Rev. George Regas, All Saints Episcopal Church, Pasadena
  • Ms. Constance L. Rice, Co-Director, Advancement Project
  • The Hon. Dr. Mark Ridley-Thomas, Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors
  • Dr. Robert K. Ross, The California Endowment
  • Rev. Dr. J. Alfred Smith, American Baptist Seminary of the West
  • Dr. R. Drew Smith, The Leadership Center at Morehouse College
  • Mr. Arnie Sowell, Office of California Assembly Speaker Karen Bass
  • Dr. Michelle Stewart-Thomas, Mt. San Antonio College
  • Dr. Harold Dean Trulear, Howard University and President,GLOBE Community Ministries
  • Dr. Ralph Watkins, Fuller Theological Seminary
  • Ms. Carolyn Webb de Macias, University of Southern California
  • Dr. Linda Wharton-Boyd, The Wharton Group
  • Dr. Leslie R. White, Grant AME Church in Los Angeles
  • Rev. Dr. Jeremiah Wright, Jr., Trinity United